Categories
Uncategorized

Welcome to the Team, Will!

We’re pleased to offer a self-introduction from a new staff member in the office. Will Ezzell’s position is Bikeway & Pedestrian Program Technician. He’s a recent transplant to Memphis, and as such brings a fresh set of eyes for improving local conditions for walking and biking. Welcome aboard, Will!

My name is Will and I am currently a first-year student working on my Master’s in City and Regional Planning degree. Before moving to Memphis, I received a Bachelor’s of Arts in Popular Culture from Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio. I am originally from Knoxville, and lived there before I moved to Bowling Green, before finally getting to Memphis. Along with my studies, I am a member of the Planning Student Organization (PSO) and one of the projects I am working on there is assisting in certifying the campus as a bike-friendly campus.

 I was initially drawn to the city of music for my love of music and basketball. I am a big fan of the Memphis Grizzlies and have followed the team steadily since my first Grizz game 10 years ago. I also collect vinyl records and grew up listening to old soul, gospel, and country. Living in the same place as Stax and Sun Records is very special to me because some of the best music I have ever heard came out of those studios.

Most of my previous work experience is related to cooking. I love to cook, especially cooking things from scratch. I have worked making various types of food for thousands of people, most recently as a sous chef for AVI Foodsystems. My favorite thing to cook from scratch is fettucine alfredo, but my favorite type of food to eat is Mexican food. I eat tacos as often as I can, and I make my own tortillas from scratch when possible.

My main hobbies include collecting records, watching old sitcoms, PC gaming, and reading biographies. I like to play basketball, football, and lacrosse and I watch all of those sports, plus hockey, whenever I am able to catch a game.